Hepatitis B and Reducing Perinatal Transmission: An Overview and Discussion of New Tools

December 19, 2013 at 9:30am HST / 11:30am PST / 2:30 EST

Register for this webinar at: http://bit.ly/17E5MsJ

 

Please join the White House Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (WHIAAPI) and Hep B United on Thursday, December 19th, from 2:30-4:00 PM EDT for a webinar on Hepatitis B and Reducing Perinatal Transmission featuring speakers from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and Hep B United.

Mother to child transmission, also known as perinatal transmission, of hepatitis B is still a public health issue in the U.S. Approximately 800 newborns in the U.S. are chronically infected each year through perinatal exposure. Half of all hepatitis B-infected individuals—or 1 in 12—are from Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) populations, and the most common form of transmission is from mother to child.

Join us for this interactive session to discuss new tools and best practices toward reducing hepatitis B health disparities in AAPI communities, including potential interventions in prenatal care, information about gaps in reporting and a new resource from the Immunization Action Coalition entitled, Give Birth to the End of Hep B.

Title:
Hepatitis B and Reducing Perinatal Transmission: An Overview and Discussion of New Tools

Date:
Thursday, December 19th, 2013

Time:
9:30-11:00am HST / 11:30am-1:00pm PST / 2:30-4:00pm EST

Register at: http://bit.ly/17E5MsJ
A confirmation email with information on how to join the webinar will be sent to you after you register.

Moderator:
Chari Cohen, MPH, DrPH(c), Director of Public Health, Hepatitis B Foundation

Speakers:

  • A. Seiji Hayashi, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Officer, Bureau of Primary Health Care, Health Resources and Services Administration, HHS
  • Trudy Murphy, MD, Division of Viral Hepatitis, National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, CDC
  • Su Wang, MD, MPH, former Assistant Director of Medical Affairs, Charles B. Wang Community Health Center; Medical Director, Center for Asian Health Chinese Health Initiative: Medical Care for the Chinese Community, Saint Barnabas Medical Center
  • Deborah Wexler, MD, Executive Director, Immunization Action Coalition

Note: This call is off the record and not for press purposes.

Media Relations

Beverly Quintana
Communications Manager
(510) 272-9536 x112
bquintana@aapcho.org

back to Events »