Steps to a Right Start (STARS): Developing a Family Resource Center to Promote Healthy Child Development and School Readiness

November 14, 2012

Wednesday, November 14, 2012
10:00-11:00am HST / 1:00-2:00pm PST / 4:00-5:00pm EST

Early childhood care and education in the first few years of a child’s life have a long-lasting impact on a child’s development. However, low-income immigrant parents and caregivers with low-English proficiency face many barriers when navigating the health care system and are less likely to access early childhood development and education services. Community based, culturally competent approaches are key to promote healthy child development and school readiness.

Join us on Wednesday, November 14th at 10:00-11:00am HST / 1:00-2:00pm PST / 4:00-5:00pm EST to find out how one AAPCHO member community health center worked to improve early identification of parental developmental concerns and provided child development education for Asian American patients’ parents and caregivers. Daisy Tsao and Shao-Chee Sim will highlight strategies and lessons learned from Charles B. Wang Community Health Center’s (CBWCHC) Steps to a Right Start: Developing a Family Resource Center to Promote Healthy Child Development and School Readiness project.

In this webinar, you will find out:

  • How CBWCHC used community based, culturally competent approaches to improve access to healthy child development and school readiness services,
  • About the challenges and lessons learned in promoting these services to Asian American families with young children,
  • How you can effectively replicate this successful program at your community health center, and
  • How CBWCHC integrated screening into the clinical workflow and EMR

If you have any questions related to this webinar, please email Beverly Quintana at bquintana@aapcho.org.

 

Media Relations

Beverly Quintana
Communications Manager
(510) 272-9536 x112
bquintana@aapcho.org

back to Events »